victims of war and oppression

messengers of peace and justice

Home News Peoples’ Tribunal on Sri Lanka – Session III begins Friday 20th May...

Peoples’ Tribunal on Sri Lanka – Session III begins Friday 20th May in Berlin

The Tribunal will open at 6pm on Friday and continue on Saturday and Sunday. Attendance has to be regulated, and if you wish to take part, please contact as early as you can. Please see for updates, including details of online streaming.

Donations can be sent to: IMRV – Germany, IBAN: DE77 2001 0020 0009 9292 07 or GoFundMe:

The third session of the tribunal – like the Dublin and Bremen sessions – will take place under the aegis of the Permanent Peoples’ Tribunal.

As we see a confrontation taking place between the two sides of the geo-political divide as to who controls this strategically important island, while its economy collapses – the Eelam Tamils in the homeland and in the Diaspora will find the deliberations at this tribunal very instructive. And, as the world in witnessing again, in Ukraine, the failure of negotiations resulting in a terrible war, the discussions at the Berlin Tribunal will not only be of concern to the Eelam Tamils, but to all those concerned in peace through negotiations.

The Tribunal will investigate the following inter-related areas:

1. Who holds the primary responsibility in the war against the Eelam Tamils?

2. Is the United Nations’ Human Rights Council manipulated by the perpetrators?

3. Was the war of extermination of Eelam Tamils a threat to peace in the Indian Ocean?

4. What is the significance of the international criminalisation of Tamil activists?

5. Is the destruction of social progress made in Tamil Eelam, particularly concerning women, part of the genocidal process?

6. Is the ongoing structural genocide supported by the external perpetrators?

Panel of Judges

Denis Halliday (Former assistant secretary-general to the United Nations and recipient of Gandhi International Peace Award)

Javier Giraldo Moreno (Vice president of the Permanent Peoples’ Tribunal and Colombian liberation theologian who is a prominent human rights activist in Latin America)

Ana Esther Cecena (Director of Latin American Geopolitical Observatory and professor at the National Autonomous University of Mexico)

Flavia Carvalho (Brazilian supreme court assistant judge and an Afro-Brazilian feminist)

Lourdes Esther Huanca Atencio (President of the National Federation of Female Peasants, Artisans, Indigenous, Native and Salaried Workers of Peru)

Feliciano Valencia (Former Colombian senator, a Nasa Indigenous leader of the Cauca region)

Na’eem Jeenah (Executive director of the Afro-Middle East Centre in South Africa and former president of Muslim Youth Movement of South Africa)

Liza Maza (General secretary of International League of People’s Struggle (ILPS) and a former member of Philippine’s House of Representatives)

Lonko Juana Culfunao Paillal (A leader of the Mapuche indigenous community of south-western Chile who is engaged in the struggle for her people’s sovereignty and the founder of Ethical Commission Against Torture)

Junaid S. Ahmad (Director of the Centre for the Study of Islam and Decoloniality, Islamabad and Founder and Chair of the Palestine Solidarity Committee, Pakistan)

Gianni Tognoni (General secretary of the Permanent Peoples’ Tribunal in Rome)